Wednesday, August 25, 2010

It's the Most Something Time of the Year

Well school has started and I'm already feeling the mornings. Here's hoping it's just an adjustment period for the first week or so. Here's really hoping. If I have to drag myself out of bed each morning I know I'll be taking advantage of my late prep a little too often.
So far the year seems good. Last year the ville let a lot of teachers go due to low enrollment numbers. I survived the cut, but I get to face the giant influx of students we currently have. I hate being one of those teachers that banks on people not showing up, but I am, I don't want to squeeze another table into my finally de-cramped room.
I've decided to go with the Buffy approach to high school. Something like "seize everyday because tomorrow you might be dead" or jobless due to budget cuts. Also it's kinda fun thinking of our tall new principal in the roll of Principal Flutey, or even better Principal Quark. I really do hope he doesn't get eaten.
I'll get some pics up eventually of the house. I've done some exciting things like buy a television to veg in front of, and a couch on which to do the vegging. I've even managed to get some gardening done and I need to post before my pride is overwhelmed by the rest of the garden.
If I'm MIA for a bit it has to do with cross-country and the new hell I'm facing this year. While I love the team and the sport, I now have to deal with this new coach breathing down my neck. He is eagerly waiting, wanting and willing to take my job. While I'm tempted to say "sure thing, just let me help," I really like my teaching position and this is just about the only thing keeping me necessary at the school. I'd hate to have to do cheer next year.
Well good luck to all who are starting school this week! And for any of you lucky suckers that are retired, please stop laughing openly at us, at least wait until we are at school.

1 comment:

Jody said...

YAY! You didn't stop blogging! I was getting worried. I think the first couple weeks of school must be terrible but then I remember that it comes after having a WHOLE SUMMER OFF! I'm so jealous. I know it's not like you have any time to rest, but I would love the change of pace!